Atta-ur-Rahman FIAS to head a Science and Technology Task Force in Pakistan

By February 28, 2019No Comments

The government has now approved the proposed task force on science and technology. The notification lists the names of all the people who will be on the task force.

Dr. Atta-ur-Rahman, Former Minister of Science & Technology, Former Chairman of Higher Education Commission will the chairman of the new task force. He is also part of the 17 man task force on IT and telecom. The secretary to Minister of science and technology will reprise the same role in the task force.

Here are all the people who are on the task force:

Prof. Dr. Atta-ur-Rahman

Secretary, Minister of Science and Technology

Syed Yawar Ali

Chairman, Pakistan Agriculture Research Council

Prof. M. Iqbal Choudhary

Dr. Shahid Mansoor

Prof. Dr. Raheel Qamar

Prof. Dr. Muhammad Wasay

Prof. Dr. Sohaib Khan

Engineer Khalid Asghar

Prof. Waqar Mahmood

Prof. Dr. Naveed A. Malik

Prof. Dr. Ehsan Ullah Khan Kakar

The objective of the task force is to start an economic renaissance through Education, Science, Technology, Research, Innovation and Commercialization. The task force will try to enhance collaboration between industries and academia. Promotion of STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) education is also one of the objectives. To summarize the notification, the government plans to empower entrepreneurs working in STEM fields for better products and services.