Prof. Jackie Ying FIAS receives 2018 Turkish Academy of Sciences Prize

By January 31, 2019No Comments

Singapore, December 27, 2018 – Professor Jackie Y. Ying who heads A*STAR’s NanoBio Lab in Singapore has won the 2018 Turkish Academy of Sciences (TÜBA) Academy Prize in Science and Engineering Sciences. This award recognizes her pioneering work in the synthesis of advanced nanostructured materials for biomedical, catalytic, energy and advanced materials applications.

“It is a great honor to receive this Prize from the Turkish Academy of Sciences. I am grateful to be able to do exciting research with the talented scientists and dedicated staff at NanoBio Lab in Singapore. Technological breakthroughs can help to improve the quality of lives and benefit society in many ways. It is my hope that we can make a distinct impact through many successful clinical translation and commercialization of our research,” said Professor Ying.

She has mentored numerous PhD students, postdoctoral fellows and research staff. She featured on Clarivate Analytics’ list of Highly Cited Researchers 2018 for Cross-Field publications, and has over 350 publications in leading journals. She is widely recognized for her inventions, which have led to over 180 patents and patent applications. 32 of her inventions have been licensed to multinational companies and start-ups for diverse applications including nanomedicine, drug delivery, medical implants, cell and tissue engineering, biosensors and medical devices.

Professor Ying is the only female recipient of the TÜBA Academy Prizes in 2018. The other 2018 TÜBA Academy Prize winners are Professor Fatih Mehmet Uҫkun of the University of Minnesota (winner in Health and Life Sciences category), and Professor Bold Luvsandorj of the Mongolian Academy of Sciences and Professor Viorel Panaite of the University of Bucharest (joint winners of the Social and Human Sciences category). Previous laureates come from Austria, Canada, Hungary, Pakistan, Turkey and USA.

The 2018 winners received their prizes from the President of Turkey in a special ceremony in Ankara, Turkey. Each laureate received an Academy Medal and USD 30,000.